Return to Sugar Hill Homepage

Hammar Nails Win at Sugar Hill
Weare, NH – It was just a matter of time before a new winner reached victory lane in the Jr. Outlaw 'B' division at Sugar Hill Speedway. On Sunday, Ryan Hammer was that driver. Douglas Lazelle has been showing great dominance in the class, but the entire field has been getting better and faster as the weeks wind down in the Sugar Hill season. Hammer grabbed the lead on the first lap and held off challenges from Parker Mullins Jr.. Meanwhile, the field was mixing it up behind the front two. Mullins maintained his second position until Lazelle was able to get by for the checkers. Mullins finished third followed by Stephen Makela and Katie Jeski rounding out the top five.

Nate Parkhurst grabbed his first win of the year in the Box Stock Heavy division. Parkhurst has been threatening each week and has come up very shy on a couple of occasions. On Sunday, he made the win stick. For almost the first half of the race, Parkhurst was out front and Matt Chagnot ran second. Dylan Payea was on the move until spinning his kart into the wall and ending his racing for the day. From that point on, it was all Parkhurst en route to Victory Lane. Jim Karatsanos turned in his best finish of the year in second followed by Luke Labonte in third.

There were four different leaders in the Jr. Outlaw 'A' division. Cassandra Burrant set the pace early. Chris Lovering led lap six and then the lead shuffled amongst Josh Annis and TJ Jeski. On Lap 12, Jeski put his machine out front until Annis edged just ahead on lap 21. Jeski charged right back and was able to take the checkers for the second week in a row. Burrant got back past Annis and finished second. Annis was third.

In the Amigos Mexican Cantina Jr. Sportsman Champ division, it was yet again a race that was decided by inches. At the wire, Austin Brehio finished a minuscule 3/100th of a second ahead of Weare's Jonathan Lemay and Jack Lithgow rounded out the top three.

Brittney Burrant is well on her way to claiming the championship in the Eurasian Autoworks LTD Jr. Champ division. She chalked up another win followed by Nicoal Perreault in second.

Chris Kenyon had his biggest challenge of the season in the Sr. Outlaw division. Amanda Payea looked determined to hold onto the lead and end Kenyon's winning streak. But, as the handling went away on her kart she came up just shy of making a last lap pass stick and settled for second.

The Tiger Sprint winners were as follows: Tiger 'A' - Brad Zahensky, Tiger 'B' - Dylan Boutwell, and Tiger 'C' - Ashley Boutwell. Jason Phillips was the winner in the SH Modified division.

Return to Sugar Hill Homepage