Return to Sugar Hill Homepage

Final Week of Racing Showcased Young Talent at Sugar Hill
Weare, NH – The sixteenth and final weekly racing series event of the 2008 racing season was run off this past Sunday. On the line were some very tight point battles. The battles were not only for the championship, but in one case the difference between finishing second and fifth. The tightest battle for the championship was in the Jr. Outlaw 'A' division. TJ Jeski and Josh Annis came into Sunday tied for the division title. Jeski turned in a solid performance by winning his qualifying heat race and Annis finished third. In the feature, Annis attempted to reclaimed the two points lost in the qualifier by winning the feature. While there were numerous lead changes, Jeski managed to lead the most laps and pick up five bonus points as well as winning the feature, therefore giving him the season championship.

Josh Annis did pick up the division title in the Tiger Sprint 'A' division. A last lap pass by Brad Zahensky ended any hopes of Annis grabbing a feature win for the day. The dynamic duo along with Parker Mullins Jr. swapped the lead position on numerous occasions during the 25-lap main event.

In the Jr. Outlaw 'B' division, Douglass Lazelle clinched the division title a couple of weeks ago. But, he wanted to end the regular season with a win. Lazelle just edged out Adam Manley and Kati Jeski as the checkers waved. Jeski was one of the contenders in a three-way battle for the runner-up position in the yearend points. Ryan Hammar and Stephen Makela both had a tough go of it on Sunday. Both are also contenders for the runner-up position. All points are being reviewed at press time and final standings will be posted online in the coming week.

In the Amigos Mexican Cantina Jr. Sportsman Champ division, the trio of Jack Lithgow, Austin Brehio and Jonathan Lemay ended the season how they have raced all season long. Always a photo finish, the young talent in this division always keeps the crowd on the edges of their seats. On Sunday, Lithgow grabbed the final regular season win with Brehio and Lemay in tow. The win compliments his 2008 division championship.

More young talent put on a show in the Tiger Sprint 'B' division. Dylan Rock was looking to make it two wins in a row. Jack Rogers was looking to prevent that and Dylan Boutwell, the 2008 division champion, was looking to crown his achievement with a win. In the end, it was Rock the victor, Rogers the runner-up, and Boutwell grabbing the final podium position in third. A close fourth went to Jeremy Decourcy.

Ashley Boutwell won the final race in the Tiger Sprint 'C' division followed by Emily Blast in second. Blast turned some of her best lap times to date on Sunday. Boutwell's win goes along with her division championship and the second championship of the season for the Boutwell family.

Sean Murphy was the winner in the SH Modified division. Dylan Payea scooped up a win and the title in the Box Stock Heavy division. Brittney Burant bypassed the racing opportunity on Sunday in the Jr. Champ division presented by Eurasian Autoworks LTD. to allow her sister Cassandra to 'test drive' the machine she will be competing in during the 2009 season. Brittney clinched the title a couple of weeks ago in the Jr. Champ division.

The next event on the Sugar Hill Speedway 2008 schedule is the 15th Annual Coca-Cola 100 and Military Appreciation weekend on September 27 & 28.

Return to Sugar Hill Homepage